Dear Baby Market, You Suck

I’m trying to find a rocker for the nursery. At first, I thought it would be awesome to have an Eames molded rocker. I still do, actually. But, all the “real” ones are crazy expensive ($400+ for a used mid century chair). And all of the remakes are fake looking. Bleh.

This is what I wanted:

And, the more I thought about it, I don’t know how comfortable an Eames rocker would be. Being practical kinda blows.

So, I started looking at some other options, and there’s just nothing I like. Either it’s awesome and modern and really expensive, or it’s plain ugly (yet somehow affordable…I guess people like ugly).

Ugly:

Ugly:

Really ugly:

You get my point with the ugliness. I’ll stop there, even though it continues. I don’t understand why there are soooo many variations of ugly rockers, but there are. And that’s why the baby market sucks. People actually buy these. There must be a market for ugly chairs because otherwise there wouldn’t’ be so many ugly rockers out there.

And then, on the other end of the spectrum, there are the chairs that would be awesome and would fit perfectly in our nursery. But they are expensive. Really expensive.

Very pretty (PS I think I’m in LOVE with Monte Designs):

Guess how much this one sells for? $1,000. Ugh.

Very pretty:

Again, Monte Designs nails it. How cool would this orange be in our nursery? And it looks comfy. And it has modern lines. Love it. Price? $1,000. Noticing a trend?

Pretty:

I really like this one too. It blends the vintage and modern, which is what we’re going for. This one is from Nursuryworks. Price? $800.

Pretty:

Also from Nurseryworks. $700. Price is getting better. But, still. $700???!!

There are a few others that I like, but you get the point. They are all expensive. And no one has them for resale on Craigslist. Only the ugly ones are listed on Craigslist. Again, this is why the baby market sucks. They make a commodity out of ugliness and charge you ridiculous amounts for anything you’d actually want/use.

Bleh.

2 Comments

Filed under Baby

2 responses to “Dear Baby Market, You Suck

  1. Cece

    Hey,
    There is a white chair on the cover of the Cost Plus World Market circular in today’s paper that looks like something you would like. It is not a rocker, but maybe you could get someone who does woodworking put some rockers on, or take the rockers off of an old rocker and apply them. Aunt Cece

Leave a Reply

