DIY Chevron Rug

I’ve been all about diy projects recently. I LOVE this Ikea hack that I found through Little Green Notebook’s blog, and I’ve been wanting to do it ever since. Well, the nursery finally gives me that opportunity (as does the newly opened Ikea that’s finally in town!).

Inspiration was a $250 5×8 rug from West Elm:

I started with a $40 Ikea Erslev rug. Size: 5×7.

I then cut out my zig zag template from a piece of cardboard. I ripped apart a box so I could get one long strip that covered the width of the rug. I did a 3″ zig zag stripe.

Laying the template on my rug, I taped the chevron pattern with 1″ blue painter’s tape. I wanted even stripes, so I measured every time I put the template down again for a new row so that it was evenly spaced.

Note: the pictures are kinda yellowed since I didn’t use a flash. (A little something about me: I don’t like flashes on cameras…they tend to bleach things out. Brady hates that I don’t use flashes.)

Once taped, I started to paint the rug using a dry brush technique (aka barely any paint on the brush). This gives the rug just enough paint to absorb into the fabric so that it’s tinted with the new color. Too much paint would mean a thick, somewhat sticky surface once it dried. Who wants to walk on that?

Let the paint dry for a few hours and you’re done!

Here’s a look at my rug, halfway through removing the tape:

And the final product, in the nursery with its newly painted walls. =)

And, one with Lola for good measure. She loves getting into my pictures. (Side note: it was not easy getting this done in our living room with a dog and two cats. All three creatures were super curious. I had to guard the rug with my life, basically, and we had to set the rug in the nursery and close the door so it could dry in peace.)

I’m super happy with the outcome of the rug! I like the textured look that the dry brushing gives it. And I love the price! All told, I probably spent $60 on the rug, for the same look of one that would have cost $250. PS – I probably spent more than I needed because I got a gallon of paint (I’ll use it elsewhere), which was way too much. And two rolls of tape, when I only needed one.

Please note that if you want to do your own rug and paint different colors, you’d have to either be more deliberate with your taping process, or you’d have to wait until color #1 dries and then tape again before applying color #2. I knew I was going to have the original rug come through for my alternating stripe, so I taped and painted accordingly.

Yay for nursery progress!

4 Comments

Filed under Baby, Crafty

4 responses to “DIY Chevron Rug

  1. I just love this! I have been looking for a chevron rug and they are all just too pricey. I think I might be dragging the kids along with me to Ikea this weekend. Thanks for sharing this great idea!!

    • Good thing Ikea has a fun playroom for the kids. 🙂 If you end up going for it, I’d love to hear how yours turns out. You’d probably be able to get it done in a day. I’d say it took me maybe 4 hours for the whole project.

  2. What Is the Price Of Carpeting Installation?

    Carpet installation costs can fluctuate quite a lot over
    the business, a result of a wide variety of suppliers, materials as well as quality standards.

    To influence the price, you have to factor
    in labour, supplies, disposal, along with the square-footage
    you want to cover.

    The cost of Labour

    Job costs can fluctuate broadly, as a contractor operating out
    of their van are going to have a lot less overhead than an established
    business and so bill less.

  3. Pingback: Frugal Fun: DIY Decor | Frugal Portland

Leave a Reply

